The 5 Love Languages in Relationships

The 5 Love Languages: How To Use Them

The five love languages are five different ways of expressing and receiving love: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch.


The goal of the present survey is to obtain an understanding of which love languages most accurately describe the participants’ perceptions of what they receive from their significant other and the recipients of their love.

2 Questions :

A) Does your partner share their feelings and affection in the same way?

B) Does your partner use verbal expressions (“I love you”, “I’m proud of you”) or physical expressions (“hold me tight”, a back rub, a kiss) during intimate moments.

Tyrone had been dating his girlfriend Paige for three months when she told him he didn’t use the ‘right’ love language. “I thought, ‘Okay, so I’m not giving you what you need? What do I need to do?’” Tyrone recalls. “So I brought her home, and I showed her the books I’d already bought, and the plans I had.

The 5 Love Languages

1. Words of Affirmation: People who express love with words like “I love you,” “Thank you,” “I appreciate you,” and “Good morning” seem to understand love in a deeper way than those who use physical affection to express their feelings.

2. Quality Time: Quality time is about time spent together doing things you enjoy and being physically close. “I love you” is a verbal expression of your feelings for your partner and physical contact.

3. Receiving Gifts: There are different ways to interpret gifts. A card with a small gift in it or a gift that is larger or elaborate can mean the exact same thing.

4. Physical Touch Love Language: This includes holding your loved ones, hugging them, giving a kiss on the cheek and back, etc.

5. Acts of Service: People who consider getting things done for others as a top expression of love are those who feel love through acts of service.

“Everyone has one love language. Every one of us expresses and receives love in different ways,” they say. “Knowing and loving your love language will help you make the most of your relationships, wherever you are in life.”

So how does knowing your love language impact your relationships? In a word, everything. Not only will knowing your love language give you a better understanding of the way your partner expresses and suggests that there are six categories of individuals, but what if you don’t fit neatly into any of those categories?

You may not believe in love, but it doesn’t mean you don’t experience it.

The 5 Love Languages in Relationships

Many people are often in relationships with someone who speaks the same love language as they do. What a surprise! You’ll have someone to talk to about life, listen to you, and love you in their unique way. You won’t always get along or love each other perfectly in all five love languages. But you will know you can relate to each other in some way. “Having five love languages is the key to giving and receiving love,” says Dr. Gary Chapman. “If you can’t articulate how you feel, you can’t know how to show your partner how you feel. This means your partner may not be able to show how they feel either. And when this happens, people need to figure out how to communicate in ways that work for them.

The five love language by Gary Chapman (available from Amazon) has proven to be a great resource and many couples who have read it report becoming closer together than before.

You can use a love languages test, which is free, to find out which one is yours.

We do a poor job of showing love verbally. If we have any talk at all, we talk about what we want and we rarely take the time to share what we really want. What do we want for a loved one? Is it a simple message of “I love you”? Does a baby scream out “I love you”? What do our babies love? Words of affirmation. Just the simple words “I love you.” Being told how good we look. Just giving a small compliment. We all have such a hard time with that one. It is not only hard to put ourselves out there, but it is also hard to hear that we are okay when we

But who can define love in all the different ways that exist? And why does a highly strung, independent woman who’s been told that her “lack of love” is the reason her relationship has failed so many times fall for this silly idea in the first place? How come love isn’t universal and there’s no one “right” way to express it?

Many people are surprised to find that they have all of the neediest languages for expressing love in a relationship. Some love languages are, quite frankly, more annoying than others. Many people might go their entire lives thinking they speak the way the world defines love, and then find out they have a third-grade love language for expressing love. If that sounds like you, and you have been wondering why your relationships aren’t going so well, then you might need to reassess your


If you’re not sure of what your love language is, I highly recommend checking out the 5 Love Languages site. They explain what all the different ways are and offer simple quizzes for you to take. Once you figure out which one you’re speaking, you’ll be able to understand your spouse’s love language better and find ways to express love in their love language. Do you know what your spouse’s love language is?

Related topic: 5 Ways to Express Your Love in a Language Your Partner Understands

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *